Can the Internet replace museums?

These days, the internet seems to be a matter of great public interest and this in part is a reflection of the rapid changes in our society. However, the internet has been the source of much heated debate within society. Some say that the internet can replace museums while others take the opposite view, Even if it may appear that divergent opinion coexists well, there is still a need for both views to be scrutinised. To begin with, regarding the benefits the internet brings, the biggest point that needs to be remembered is that it helps people to gain more free access than museums. In other words, a few clicks of the mouse can provide access to both images and details of historical works from any museum in the world. Based on the aforementioned statements, it is broadly maintained that museums are unable to compete with the unlimited nature of the internet. However, there are voices who oppose strongly the idea, stating that the benefits the internet brings is only one side of the issue, and if we investigate more, it is clear that the internet often causes problems we should not overlook. One of them is that it often makes people find themselves in a situation where they are unable to truly experience and interact with the paintings, sculptures and artifacts in museums. In the world case scenario, young children may not be able to tell the difference between a simple image that the internet gives and such beautiful and intricate detail that the museum provides. It is my view that museums will never be replaced by the internet. Although both views have reasons for support, it is still difficult for me to embrace the idea of the internet as flawless as there are definite problems that are not easily resolved.