By definition, charity is generosity in offering money, food and help to the needy. To some people, such kindness should be boundless, others argue for a limit to it.

Nowadays, charitable behavior is so ubiquitous that it has plenty of controversial opinions. Some people believe that charity should not have an end, others argue that such kindness must be limited to some extents. To me, I agree with the latter point of view because of the myriad of reasons. Firstly, boundless charity may be misguided and doesn’t solve the problem. Many organizations and donors assume that supplying what the needy lack such as: money, food, water, … can lead them to a happy life. However, It is shortsighted because it fails to consider one massive problem: how impoverished communities will continue to support and maintain the created resources. For that reason, charitable works may go to waste. Secondly, charity without limit may raise a higher level of unemployment rate. According to recent research, a large number of the poor receiving help from charitable behavior refuse to look for a job to make ends meet because they have already had all the necessities provided by benefactors. Finally, charitable works with no end point can inhibit people’s self-sufficiency that they are capable of. In fact, with others donating items or money, the recipients are not moving towards the progress of getting out of poverty and will become dependent on the aid as all their needs have been fulfilled. In conclusion, charity must have a limit because of the above reasons and benefactors should teach the poor how to solve their own problems instead of just donating money.