By definition, a person is self-employed if they work for themselves as a business owner or freelancer, and being employed means working for an organization. Compare and/or contrast between being self-employed and being employed.

Nowadays, people have many choices to choose their careers. They can build their business or work as employees for an organization. Each of these types of employment has advantages and disadvantages. This essay will show the differences between being self-employed and being employed. The first difference between the two types of employment is stabilization. Employees who work full-time for a company get regular monthly salaries each month, so they can rely and count on it. As freelancers, the income could be unstable. They may take on many assignments for this month and get high income, for other months they may get one task or even none of the assignments that make them have poor income. The second difference is autonomy. Working in companies often have bosses. Employees need to follow the rules, schedules, tasks that the management gives them. In contrast, freelancers can decide when, where and what they do. They can easily reject assignments that they do not want to do. They set discipline by themselves. For example, if you work for a company, you often have to work in shifts, normally from 8 a. m to 5 a. m at the office which is in the fixed location. Meanwhile, as being self-employed, you can have flexible working time, you can work in the morning, in the afternoon or even at night. You can work at your house, your friend’s house or even at a cafe shop. The third difference is motivation. As a freelancer, they need to push themselves. They do not have a boss to control them, they organize their own time to make sure they stay on top of things. Unlike it, full-time employees often have performance reviews and if they do well, they can get a promotion, incentives, or bonuses from their companies to motivate them. To sum up, there are three differences between being self-employed and being employed: stabilization, autonomy, and motivation. People should identify different types of jobs, along with their strengths and interests, to make the right employment decisions.