Buying things on the Internet, such as books, air tickets and groceries, is becoming more and more popular. Do the advantages of shopping in this way outweigh the disadvantages?

The world has come closer with the use of technology making things easily available at a click. Purchasing things online is an option many choose while being in the comfort of their homes/ offices. There are many merits to this like availability of products, tickets, and even groceries at a discounted prices and they supersede the demerits of physically visiting shops in search of the things and books we need. First of all, shopping on the Internet has its own advantages. Products like clothing, books, and other items are available with a single click at discounted prices. you can compare, check the quality before ordering. Even after the delivery of the item, if the customer is unhappy with the product, they can return the same without any hassle. Flight tickets are available at competitive prices and with no travel agent fees, which otherwise proves to be costly. For instance, In the period of the global pandemic, when people were afraid to go out to purchase the daily necessities items this online method proved to be safe for everybody globally. Secondly, people can search and order the products they need from any part of the world. This helps in raising the economy of the country by means of international trade. For example, earlier people used to ask their friends and family members to get some stuff while travelling abroad, now they can order whatever they need from their mobiles/ computers or i-pads with no compromise on the quality of the product and many online sites offer the free delivery option as well. With online shopping in place, there are few researchers, who believe that the impact of online shopping has directly affected the regular round-the-corner shop. As there are few people walking-in for shopping, and not finding what they are looking for, and returning empty-handed. The limitation of space and products to keep results in loss of business and reducing their customer base and profits at large. In conclusion, the use of the internet has brought the world closer and has proven to be a boon in times of global crisis with its popularity increasing day-by-day.