Burning Mirror

The reading provides three reasons to show that burning mirror is a myth and the Greeks of the Syracuse could not build such a weapon. The speaker, however, said that the reasons are unconvincing and refute each reason. First, the passage says ancient Greeks were not advanced enough to build such a large complex mirror. But the speaker states that they don't have to build such a large mirror and several smaller mirrors can mimic the same purpose. The same parabolic curvature is also achievable with some help from a mathematician. Second, the author states that it takes a long time to set wood on fire at that distance even without considering the ships are on the move. However, the speaker reminds that the ships construction material is not just wood. She explains that there was a sticky material called pitch used to waterproofing the ships and this material catch fire in a matter of seconds. Third, the author claims that burning mirror was not an improvement over their framing arrow at the time, hence they had no reason to build such a weapon. The speaker objects this reason by saying that the Roman navy was aware of the flaming arrow and would notice the weapon as soon as the Greeks wanted to use them while burning mirror could set their ships on fire without attracting their attention. So, the Romans wouldn't notice until their ship is actually on fire.