building safe and healthy cities in terms of infrastructure should be a priority for most governments in the world

Nowadays, building safe and healthy cities in terms of infrastructure should be a priority for most governments in the world. For this reason, I agree with bike lanes rather than being useless, they will make safer and eco-friendly places for cyclists, drivers and pedestrians. On the one hand, bike paths reduce the traffic accidents because cyclists and drivers will have their own way. Therefore, this improves the traffic flow and avoid crashes and injuries, especially where there are extremely crowded streets with cars, bikes and foot-travelers. I have a friend in Bogotá, and one of his favorite sports is cycling. He says that if there no bicycle lanes on the streets, he could not ride his bike on weekends due to the fact that it is too dangerous with the heavy traffic. On the other hand, this kind of systems are better for the environment. Bicycling produces no significant carbon emissions like driving. In this sense, in some European countries like for example, Holland, the Dutch authorities have invested a huge money in cycling infrastructure. They consider that if people want less air pollution and road congestion, they should make it easier and safer and commute by bike to work. In fact, during this pandemic most of citizens are using bikes instead of motor cars. To conclude, if leaders want to build a better city, they can start by building bike lanes. They should know that cities are growing and thriving in this 21st century. Consequently, they should finance bicycle friendly projects.