Building of roads for cutting down of trees

The construction of roads was the first step towards urbanisation, which led to utilisation of various natural resources including trees. The concept of construction of roads and subsequent cut down of trees is like that of a double edged sword. The merits that depict that construction of roads is important lies in the fact that roads are the sine qua non of a good economy, they play a major role in interconnecting major cities with each other or urban or suburban areas hence playing an important factor in trade, commerce and travel. Meanwhile roads also save lives, by offering a quick commute to hospitals. Overall roads help in providing smooth transport to various places via vehicles, had there been no roads all the vehicles that we own would have been useless. This doesn’t mean that the statement in motion could be justified, cutting down trees means cutting down air purifies. Trees take in carbon dioxide and give out oxygen, and since the latter is the gas we breathe in cutting down plants would mean that we are shutting our oxygen factories. The list does not end here, trees have roots which hold the soil together, and hence if they are cut soil erosion is inevitable. Apart from that trees are shelter to many animals, and that act of chopping up the trees would justify our greed for urbanisation. As previously stated the statement is debatable, roads have their importance and trees have their significance. In my opinion unnecessary cut down of trees for building roads where it not required should be discouraged and a re-forestation drive should be started where for every tree cut two trees should be planted. This would help us to cover the losses of environmental pollution and would help animals dwelling on trees to find their shelter.