Brands and passion: Companies must try either to make products that a few people love or products that many people quite like.

Companies must try either to make products that a few people love or products that many people quite like. An attempt to do both will not produce obstacles and conflicts. Two things that lie behind the craze for emotional involvement. The first is overcapacity: if there are too many products in every market segment, and this means it is hard to get attention for anything ordinary. Marketing consultants argue that it is not enough for companies to make up their consumer goods just a little better. Instead of, they should make only remarkable things that will make consumers take notice. The second factor is the increased ability of consumers to communicate their views about products, either good or bad. According to some experts, the internet has increased by a factor of 10 the number of people and that one consumer can influence. Sometimes, companies take an advantage of this by using buzz marketing: they create a group of people who will generate enthusiasm for their products, for example by talking about them in our chat rooms.