Books are beneficial. Do you agree or disagree?

They are emotionally intelligent. A good book will cause a reader to stop, think, and reflect after turning its last page. Conversely, if the book wasn’t so great, the reader will often identify and examine why that particular read didn’t work for them. These practices of self-awareness and reflection are big components of emotional intelligence, another in-demand soft skill highly sought in today’s job market. They’re more creative. Reading gives us ideas and broadens our horizons. Whether someone is reading about recent developments in their industry or getting lost in the fictional world of a novel, they’re spending time exploring new things. This enhances creativity, which is always a plus in any professional capacity. They’re skilled problem solvers. For a story to be engaging, it has to spark questions that the reader wants answered. This is what keeps the reader turning the pages: often, he or she is imagining possible scenarios and eager to see if their answer matches up with what really happens. These habits sharpen the problem solving skills that help professionals work through kinks at work.