Bicycles merits and demerits

Many consider that there are lots of benefits in riding a bike while others think that there are mere drawbacks. In this essay, I will discuss both the views and assert why the first opinion seems more logic to me. On the one hand, there are many advantages of riding a bike. To begin with, cycling is an inexpensive form of transport which doesn’t require fuel and saves your money. Secondly, this way of travelling is environmentally friendly, owing the fact that, cycling doesn’t emit greenhouse gases plus it helps to reduce traffic congestion and air pollution in metropolises. Last but not least, cycling is known to be a great way to burn calories, as well as toning your muscles. This way of transportation helps people to maintain a healthy lifestyle and stay fit. On the other hand, the main demerit of using a bike as your main mode of conveyance is that it can be dangerous as times. For instance, in many countries, there are no dedicated lanes and sufficient storage units for bicycles. Riding alongside automobiles is risky and can often results in collision. It should be mentioned that, cyclist usually refuse to wear protective garments that can shield them during unfortunate accidents and as a result, they receive severe injuries. In conclusion, I strongly believe that the demerits of using bicycles are easily outclassed by it gains. By using the bikes people could fill their requisite workout needed per day without even going to a gym or jogging. The governments should encourage people to use bikes by creating dedicated lanes and bike storage units throughout the cities.