Best advice you have ever received

Receiving and giving advices is an integral part of the India culture even though when no one is seeking for one. People in India give advices to each other for fun and major chunk of these advices are useless but sometimes an advice given in light mood or in fun can be very true or vital. For a instance me and a friend of mine were having tea at cafe and giving advices to each other as usual like what you should do, what you can do etc, and suddenly out of nowhere he advices me to stop expecting anything from anyone. I took it for lightly as we usually do but this thing was revolving in my mind regularly, I don't know for reasons i couldn't stop thinking about this. Over a period of time I have researched alot about this and came to the conclusion that it is the best strategy to tackle emotions or to deal to with the people. After a point I stopped expecting anything from even closed ones and as a result I started being more happy and confident and the only reason of this happiness and confidence was the no fear of disappointment as I'm not expecting anything so no disappointment in case of no favour and no results. So this was the best advice I have ever received in my life