benefits and drawbacks of living in big cities

Nowaday, an increasing number of people migrate from the countryside to big cities in the hope of having a better life. In my opinion, living in big cities could have both benefits and drawbacks for city dwellers. One of the biggest advantages of living in big cities is that citizens have chances to get suitable and well-paid jobs, because industrial complexes and big factories concentrate in big cities. Therefore, they can find a decent profession equivalent to their qualifications and competence. As a result, people can well afford higher living standards and better services such as education, healthcare or entertainment. Another thing is that residents can easily have access to modern material facilities in school or hospital. For example, schools in big cities are fully equipped with the best facilities such as swimming pools, football fields, and laboratories… Moreover, most of the highly qualified teachers usually work in famous universities. This allows people living in big cities to have a good education. On the one hand, there are also many disadvantages of living in big cities. First, inhabitants have to suffer from pollution, especially poor air quality. The main reason is that there are many industrial zones including a lot of factories which produce exhausted fumes directly into the atmosphere. Furthermore, traffic congestion also is a cause of lower quality of air. Consequently, air pollution has negative impacts on people’s health especially causing respiratory diseases such as asthma, lung cancer or bronchitis. In addition, constant noise pollution can increase the risk of stress-related illness. Second, people have to pay the high cost of living. Big cities are often the economic centre of the country, therefore, the average income level of citizens here is high. As a result, their demand for life is also higher than other areas and this makes everything become more expensive. For instance, they have to pay higher prices for food. In Vietnam a bunch of vegetables in Hanoi city is three times as expensive as in the countryside. This is out of reach for people who have to overwork in order to make ends meet. Finally, Another issue is lack of safety in big cities, people tend to suffer from social problems. Because of serious job competition, the number of criminals who want to find money regardless of doing illegal things to satisfy their needs is increasing. Therefore, citizens have less comfortable lives which affect their mental health because they are living with regular anxiety. In conclusion, despite drawbacks, big cities are an attractive place to live and are seen as a place of opportunities to enhance people's quality of life.