. Becouse of lhe globol economy, mony goods including who, we use ds doily bosics produced by olher counfies hove to be tronsporled for o long disfonce. To whot exlenl do the odvonloges oufweigh the disodvonloges?

Globalization has revolutionized our world in many aspects. Now, we don't belong to a big planet Earth. We belong to a small global village. Everything is available everywhere. There are many advantages and disadvantages of transporting goods over a long distance. ln my opinion, the pros outweigh the cons. On the positive side, transporting goods over a long distance gives us a lot of choices. We can taste a variety of fruits and vegetables from all parts of the world. For example, about ten years ago, we hardly saw kiwi fruit, which is from New Zealand. But, now it has a place on every fruit stand. Earlier, we had very few shoe brands like Bata and Corona, but now the market is flooded with Reeboks, Nike, Adidas and other foreign brands. Secondly, many people get employment in this field. Small businesses have a chance to expand globally and it increases the overall economy of the country. Finally, it helps in developing good relations between countries, which helps in international co-operation and peace. lf countries are dependent upon one another's economic success, then armed conflict would be less likely. On the downside. importing goods can have a negative effect on local culture. This can be seen in countries such as Japan where imported food has become more popular than traditional, local produce, eroding people's understanding of their own food traditions. A second major disadvantage is pollution. When goods are transported thousands of miles by road, sea and air, it increases pollution from exhaust fumes. To conclude, importing goods has both merits and demerits but the pros outweigh the cons.