Banning the unhealthy habit of smoking

These days, it is a common aim of many governments to pass a bill that prohibits smokers from lighting a cigarette in public areas. They truly believe that banning tobacco smoking tend to lead to less negative health effects among their citizens. I agree with this point of view, but it is important to bear in mind that banning tobacco use does not suit everybody. There are several benefits of banning smoking. For me, the main one is that it is tremendously effective in reducing smoking-related illnesses, such as heart disease and lung cancer. For some, the nicotine withdrawal symptoms and the enjoyable ritual withholds them from quitting to smoke. However, instead of damaging your own health, you can try to use nicotine patches, which means that you feel good and won’t suffer too much from the symptoms, and at the same time, you won’t place an unhealthy burden on others. This generally results in a win-win situation for everyone. Not only that, banning cigarettes might result in smokers saving more money every single month. For instance, a report from New Zealand writes that who someone who smokes a pack a day spends about $953 dollar a month just on cigarettes. So, if all goes well, and the smokes get banned, then a heavy-fag user can save half a monthly salary and spend it on something more productive. This will therefore be more beneficial for not only the chain-smoker, but also for the society itself. Having said that, it is undeniable that banning smoking in public places, such as bars and restaurants, has some pressing negative effects for businesses. For example, if they ban cigarette use, then they might lose important customers. In the weekend, usually bars are chock-a-block with people, but with the smoking ban in place, these pubs might end up completely deserted. Moreover, nowadays, it is very hard to attract customers to vibrant public places, because of the effects of the COVID-19 measures. So, for these business owners, the ban will have some serious adverse effects. To sum up, although there is no doubt that banning cigarettes might not have a positive outcome for everyone, but I believe the benefits outweigh the drawbacks, particularly with regard to reducing the risk of getting smoking-related disease. However, it should be said that pubs and restaurants should get some kind of financial government support, when these anti-smoking actions are being implemented.