Autonomous driving technologies are becoming more and more popular. To my mind, this trend shows that the pros outweigh the cons because the risk of human faults is reduced and the price will be less than in a typical public transport. Do advantages outweigh disadvantages?

Autonomous driving technologies are becoming more and more popular. To my mind, this trend shows that the pros outweigh the cons because the risk of human faults is reduced and the price will be less than in a typical public transport. A car with autopilot will follow the optimal route, which will reduce the number of traffic jams and this, in turn, will lead to fuel economy. Also, the productivity of automated machines is higher, they can work around the clock, do not get sick, do not go on vacation. Autopilots do not panic during an unforeseen situation and can make the best decision in a critical situation in a split second. The robot will not fall asleep while driving and will not be distracted by the landscape outside the window. These properties have a significant impact on reducing the number of accidents. Our fast-changing world requires a number of new jobs and some people will have to change their qualifications. Hence, I think that the idea of losing the workplaces by drivers is not significant. Still, the drivers who are likely to lose their jobs can relocate to the less developed cities where the infrastructure doesn't allow to use of driverless means of transport