Australia currently has very few cases of COVID-19 and only vary rare instances of community transmission. In order to preserve this situation, the Australian government has decided to close its borders for the foreseeable future.

Australia is currently in the enviable position of having almost no transmission of COVID-19, and as a result, the government is planning to keep the borders closed for several more years. Although having strict border controls makes sense at the present time, I am of the opinion that the borders should be opened as soon as the vaccine rollout is complete. There are a number of reasons why it makes sense to keep Australia’s borders closed right now. If Australia opens its borders completely, it is likely that the virus will enter the country and start spreading throughout the community. As can be seen around the world, this would result in the death of many people. In addition, if the virus spreads around the country, federal, state and local governments may have to introduce lockdowns to prevent further community transmission. These lockdowns do considerable damage to small businesses, people’s mental health and the economy generally. However, considering the introduction of vaccines, I believe that the borders should be opened in the relatively near future. Evidence from around the world is showing that vaccines are extremely effective at preventing not only serious illness, but also transmission of the virus. This would indicate that once Australia has provided vaccine access to its entire population, it will be relatively safe to open the borders. Furthermore, not opening the borders even after a complete vaccine rollout will promote vaccine hesitancy. Australians will ask themselves why they should get a vaccine if the government acts like a vaccinated population is still unsafe. In conclusion, while taking a zero-risk approach to borders is not without merit, I believe that, once a vaccine is provided to all Australians, it is appropriate to open the borders. Analysis: The most common way to approach a 'To what extent do you agree' question is to take a strong opinion one-sided approach. Almost all teachers recommend this because it is simpler and generally speaking writers at any level can give a clear position