At the present time, the industrial waste of some countries includes a relatively large amount of dangerous but potentially valuable technological waste. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

Electronic waste or e-waste is the term given to describe any electronic product, or gadget containing electrical components, that has reached the end of its usable life cycle. Recently, these wastes increased enormously because of expanding trade between first class countries and developing state. This expansion may have merits and demerits, and in this essay, positives and negatives of these e-misuse will be outlined below. Many countries could achieve radical positive changes in their domestic economies from the outbreak of trading artificial wastes. In other words, when developed countries such as the United Kingdom began shipping their e-misuse to developing countries, receiving nations started to form a new business sector that disposed of the waste without proper regulations, equipment, or safe disposal techniques. These businesses created jobs for people in these developing countries, and helped support many poor families. The governments running these developing states also had financial incentives to accept e-waste from developed nations. For example, India’s government established a collecting fee of $80 US currency per ton of misuse collected. This shows how far these wastes could play a vital role in changing people’s standard living by creating many jobs for breadwinners of many families there. Nevertheless, despite these benefits, victims in developing countries are exposed to hazardous chemicals in a variety of ways. In other words, many workers in collecting e-wastes’ industry suffer from physical issues and difficulties in inhaling. This can be proven by a conducted survey by Cambridge university in the United Kingdom shows more than 90% of heavy metal and other pollutant exposure in humans are from dietary intake. Humans can absorb and accumulate toxic pollutants in their tissues. In addition to this, electronic waste may cause carcinogenic diseases for those who live near to factories which produce electronic gadgets. These plants throw their wastes into the nearest river to them, and this probably pollutes it, therefore, people who utilize the water of this river are exposed to drink toxic water. A scientific study, conducted by Lyon University, revealed that there has been an 80% increase frequency of cancer, including lung and liver that has been occurring near factory sites. In conclude, it might be stated the disadvantageous aspects of e-waste outnumber its advantageous ones; however, it could play a noticed role in diverting some developing countries into first class, and this because of its economic benefits.