As well as making money, businesses also have social responsibilities.

The idea that, besides earning money, businesses should also have social responsibilities remains a source of controversy. Nevertheless, I do agree that although earning money is the top priority of companies, they should also conduct their businesses in a socially responsible manner. On the one hand, there are some reasons why generating profit is of paramount importance to companies. First, by earning more money, companies would be able to bear the burden of monthly running costs like staff salaries and rent, which is a matter of survival in an increasingly competitive market. This means that if they had the capital to maintain and expand their operations, they could create more job opportunities for the people living in the community. Second, the higher the profits earned by enterprises, the more taxes they pay to the government. As a result, the authorities would have more revenue to spend on various sectors, including education and healthcare, which leads to an improvement in the quality of life in society. On the other hand, enterprises should also have social responsibilities. In terms of the environment, many firms, especially in manufacturing industries, need to be aware of the pollution caused by their processes and waste products, including those that contribute to global warming. Companies, therefore, are required to dispose of waste, especially chemical by-products, in a socially responsible and environmentally friendly manner. With regard to social activities, large corporations should pay back into the community and people through sponsorship of charity and social programs. Microsoft Corporation, for instance, spends millions of dollars annually to offer food and other necessities for needy children all around the world, which ensures an acceptable standard of living for them. In conclusion, while earning money is an integral objective of companies, social responsibilities towards the environment and local communities are important as well.