As English becomes more widespread as a lingua franca, there is concern that the values and culture of the English-speaking world will displace native values and cultures.

In recent years, English spreads widely as a lingua franca as every individual in the world speaks it. However, some people believe that that the values and culture of the English-speaking world will displace native values and cultures. In my view, the English speaking countries will hardly displace the non natives and this essay discusses whether this circumstance is able to happen or not. People can not deny the fact that English is being spoken all over the world and it is convenient for everyone to communicate with only one language, however, the spread of English has little influence on the non native speakers. The non natives might be motivated to learn English as a foreign language but do not necessarily drop their native language. Each people has their own feelings to their culture and values of the country and under no circumstances should those feelings be replaced in such a short time. Consequently, the values and culture of English speaking countries hardly can change values and culture of the non natives. Moreover, each country has gone through a long period of time in the past to be developed like these days, therefore, established their own values and culture. That the values and culture of English-speaking countries will displace the non native’s values and culture is unlikely to happen simply because the non native can not accept it. The distance between them is too huge. The non English-speaking countries have cherished their traditions for centuries and there is no use in using a language just because it is easy to communicate. Human, in general should keep and develop the variety of every country in the world To sum up everything that has been stated so far, despite being a lingua franca, English is just a global language that helps people to communicate in many situations. It is unlikely that English will displace the values and cultures of the non native. Therefore, this fear is truly not necessary for everyone.