As compared to the past, teens nowadays spend more of their free time at home and less time outside. What are the causes of this trend? What effects can be seen as a result of this trend?

In this day and age, adolescents compared to the millennial and older generation have been amusements to spend their free time inside with technology more than outside physical activities. One main factor that leads to the arose of this trend is the impact of technology on human's nowadays. In this essay, I will discuss the main reason for this trend and describe the possible effects of the problem. To begin with, there are several factors that influence teens to stay indoors rather than spend their quality time outdoor. In recent years, it is irrefutable the growth of the Internet and technological devices can now replace most of people's demands and that includes entertainment as well. Physical activities are considered tired, bored and have a high risk of danger while surfing on social media or playing online games are much more attractive and can still ensure entertainment. Moreover, the number of online users are mostly teenager, that can also affect others member of the community to create and establish their social identities as well, similar to the terms Sheeple which can be related to adolescents affected by the majority trends. For example, if all student in a schools uses any kind of social media platform, other will start to use it to fit with the community. The possible effect of this issue includes kids, teenagers psychological development also create some health problems. The fact of spending too much time behind the screen can cause mental illness such as insecurity about their appearance, anxiety or worse an anti-social mindset. The anonymity of social media allows users to post false information or to cyberbully to attack somebody is irrefutable. Research showed that 73% of teenagers got cyberbully throughout their lifetime and it had developed social anxiety and mental illness. Furthermore, being online most of the time can cause the lack of social skills we use everyday to interact and communicate with others as a result, it doesn't have the separation between real-life relationship and virtual ones. To conclude, by spending too much time at home can reduce adolescents confidence and also lack ofsocial skills. Each parents should raise their awareness for their children so children can balance their activity between indoor and outdoor time.