.As a result of tourism, many historical buildings and sites are being damaged beyond repair. What could be done to prevent this?

Due to tourism, several historical buildings and locations have been damaged. This essay will discuss ways to prevent further destruction of historical constructions and sites. One of the ways to curb increasing destruction of vintage buildings and locations is to make them tourist centres. A major mistake of residents of a place is the feeling that erecting new edifices and creating artificial locations are ways to attract tourist. In my opinion, existing structures and places can also serve as sources of attraction for tourist. For example, the Idanre hill which most foreigners visit when they arrive Nigeria was created by nature; if the natives of Idanre had destroyed this monument, they may never have known the benefits of it. Another way to reduce the destruction of the pride of our ancestors is to encourage our citizens to appreciate their natural environment. This includes mountains, rocks and even the famous evil forest. If the people are taught to appreciate the environment they live in and the topographic features of the land, they will never think of destroying them. Rather, they would invite their foreign friends to admire them. For example, I was brought up to appreciate the value of the coral bead. My mother also told me that they were won only by the royal family in the past. Hence, it was not a surprise that I wore these beads proudly during a cultural show while I was studying in the United Kingdom. To conclude, the best ways to protect the heritage of our ancestor and historical places, is to educate people on the values of these places. In addition, efforts should be made to clean up these areas and monuments to attract visitors.