As a result of growth in some urban centers, the environment in these cities is deteriorating. How could this issue be tackled by the government and individuals?

The development of urban areas has resulted in environmental issues in these areas. This problem can be dealt with effectively if both the governments and its residents take corrective action. A result of the rapid growth rate of urban centers over the past few decades has been the loss of natural environmental cover in urban areas. The most common cause for clearing local environments is to build houses and structures necessary for sustaining the growing population and its needs. As a result, more and more space is occupied by humans leading to environmental degradation in these areas. Recent examples signifying the level of environmental loss are the Australian forest fires and the declining forest cover in the Amazon rainforests. Governments all over the world have implemented various measures to revive the quality of the environment and these include implementing legal measures at both domestic and international levels. However, such measures have not been effective in achieving their objectives. For instance, measures to restore environmental quality were the object of Aichi biodiversity targets. The sad reality is that not even one of the goals has been achieved globally. Local environments cannot be singlehandedly protected by the authorities and governmental departments alone. Co-operation from the civilian population is also required. Mobilizing civilian support for environmental protection programs will help in the proper implementation of environmental programs at every possible level. A well-known example is the “Chipko” movement protecting trees around a village in India. To conclude, governments alone cannot protect or save the environment singlehandedly. The support of the population is also required for effective implementation and protection of the environment. Hence, the governments must aim to work in tandem with the local population to ensure effective protection of the environment.