Artists and athletes both are people who give an honor to their country.

7-EA3 박원영(Christine) Artists and athletes both are people who give an honor to their country. However, there are slight difference that artists work for their own profit and Olympic athletes practice for country’s glory. Therefore, it makes proper reason that governments should spend more money on supporting athletes who sacrifice themselves for their country. Athletes sacrifice themselves a lot for Olympic which give an honor to country. The Olympics are held every four years, which means that athletes prepare one Olympics for four years. Furthermore, most of the athletes participating in the Olympics are young, so they would not have had normal school days, which means that they are sacrificing for the country even by giving up the right to learn. For example, many underage athletes participated in the Tokyo Olympics and raised country’s status by winning a medal or setting a record. In addition, Olympic athletes receive a little salary for intensive training. Compared to artists who receive a lot of money by drawing one picture, Olympic athletes get low wages which are not enough for paying their effort. Athletes sacrifice themselves to raise up their country’s status by getting medal, even though they know that they will get low wages. Hence, government should compensate them by spending more money on athletics. Secondly, athletes are the face of the country in Olympics. Olympic athletes do not go out as individuals, but in the name of the country. So, if they get medals in Olympics, they are giving an honor to country. This means that if the governments support a lot on athletics, they can raise their status. However, artists are not always the face of the country. Artists do not paint to become the representative of the country, but to earn money. Compared to artists, athletes practice a lot even though they know they will not get high wages and they will not get high an annual pension after they win medals. Third, raising talented athletes is effective in enhancing the nation's status. Talented athletes from many countries participate in the Olympics and many other sports events. So, if one’s players are outstanding among them, the name of the country will also be mentioned. In addition, if the player wins a gold medal or have a talented player, the country is likely to appear on overseas news, and if the player is scouted abroad, the country. may get the modifier "a country that is good at sports. " Also, many players in other country will come to that country to learn about some techniques of the game. For example, many soccer players in Korea get scouted to Europe and upgrade country’s status. This why it is worthy to support athletics. In conclusion, government should spend more money supporting athletics because they are sacrificing themselves for the country, compared to artists. Also, if the country supports a lot on athletes and be able to raise outstanding player, that player will upgrade country’s status and give a helpful modifier to country. Therefore, government need to compensate athletes by supporting them a lot.