Article for a school magazine about a cultural event that was held at your school

Living in such a culturally rich country, we have had the privilege of looking at and studying age-old statues and models, sculpted by some of the best artists that walked this planet. But instead, we choose to vandalise monuments and the works within them, disrespecting the talent and memory of those who contributed to the society by constantly producing wondrous works of art. To celebrate and honour the art of sculpting, Lodha World School held a two day competition “Sculpture through the ages”. Everything was organised and coordinated by the students and staff of the school. Students and teachers from over 7 schools were invited to participate, yes teachers too, since the competition had an age group for adults too. The event had several categories, ranging from pottery, statue making to architecture and design. This gave the competitors a wide array of opportunities to select from. The event was aiming at appreciating art, and therefore wasn’t strictly a competition. Various artists from different fields were invited to display their works and demonstrate their methods, and the attendees were allowed to try their hand at sculpting, pottery, and miniature architecture. These artists were the judges for the competition, which would be judged on the basis of originality, creativity and attention to detail. The school principal had invited an esteemed art professor from the JJ School of Arts, who would also be on the panel of Judges. While the competitions were taking place, those attending had the opportunity to view several masterpieces that were displayed in the exhibition. Local artists as well as those from other states had put their magnum opuses on display. At the end of the second day, the winners were announced and several merit awards were given out too. Overall, the competition was a success and everyone went home, carrying with them a greater appreciation for art.