Art is considered an important part of the society as well as an expression of its culture. Do you think it is important for the children to be taught art? Do you think children should be encouraged to focus on art rather than other subjects?

Since time immemorial, art has played a crucial role in depicting the culture of its society. The various forms of ancient art that are studied and researched till date reflect the skill level and knowledge of that era. In the modern society, art is an integral part of school curriculum providing children with freedom to express themselves. However, it is very important that a balance is maintained between studies and arts. It is a proven fact that art is a good way of releasing tensions and stress. This further helps to bring their creative side out and enables them to express themselves better. For instance, psychologists can understand the thought process of children by studying their drawings. The pictures they create and colors they use show what they feel about the happenings in their surroundings. But at the same time, it is imperative that equal attention is given to academics as well because not everyone can earn their livelihood from art. For practicing professions like medicine or teaching one has to be academically strong. similarly for jobs like plumbing and carpentry one has to excel in skills that refine with practice. Therefore, children should be encouraged to focus on the academics as well. To conclude, it is very important to strike a balance between art and academics because both are beneficial in their own ways. If arts provide a platform to express one’s imagination freely, studies provide an opportunity to pursue professional careers. However, in my opinion, pursuing art at the expense of other subjects is not a wise idea.