Art is considered an essential part of

all cultures throughout the world. However, these days fewer and fewer people appreciate art and turn their focus to science, technology and business. Why do you think that is? What could be done to encourage more people to take an interest in the arts? Sample Answer Art has always played an important role in enriching cultures all over the world. However, people are showing less and less interest in art these days. While it is true that art enriches our culture, it plays little or no role in improving our lives. For example, one does not have to admire great paintings or marvel at brilliant sculptures to live comfortably. This is not exactly the same as the contributions of science and technology. For example, electricity or computers. It is impossible to imagine a life without these technologies. It is okay to say, people are showing more interest in science than in arts. Science and business also create more jobs and sustain financially. Another reason for the losing popularity of art is that it has lost the patronage of governments. During the monarchy, artists enjoyed considerable attention. While governments still support art and artists no special incentive is given to produce masterpieces of art. Art and culture co-exist. One cannot survive without the other. That explains the importance of preserving art. One way of doing this is to make art a viable career option. The government should create jobs in this sector by opening more and more art galleries and organizing exhibitions and cultural programmes. This will encourage more students to pursue art at school and colleges. To conclude, the most effective way to nurture art is to capitalize on its economic potential. The government can do this by creating jobs in this sector.