Around the world more and more people today are living in urban areas. What are the causes? What are the solutions?

Nowadays, there is a global trend that an increasing number of people are living in urban areas, especially in major cities. This essay explains why this phenomenon is occurring, and proposes suitable methods to reverse the situation. The first reason is clearly rooted from the unstable income of rural citizens who mostly live upon their work on farms. That they can not gain an enough amount of money for daily life forces most of them to inevitably immigrate to big cities for better paid jobs. Moreover, a great number of families in rural areas let their children study higher education with a hope to have a brighter future and overcome their poverty. According to common social thoughts, working in urban areas might earn them a greater income than coming home with a huge threat of being unemployed; hence, a myriad of graduated scholars choose to earn their living there. These scary feelings result in a fact that more and more people put down their roots in major centers. To avoid a worse situation, urgent solutions should be applied to tackle the problem. Creating new job opportunities which bring farmers an alternative income in leisure time may potentially solve the ongoing issue in rural areas. To do that, the government should invest in significant industrial areas with stable growth. Regarding the problem of graduated students, local officials shall considerably enact a few policies to appeal their comeback, such as long-term jobs, unemployment subsidy and priorities in promotion. In conclusion, a greater number of immigrants to urban regions will result in unpredictable disasters in the near future. If any actions are not taken, major parts of cities may soon get out of their limit of suffering.