Around the world, mega cities are now home to an even larger share of the world's population. What problems are caused by this shift? What measures can government take to deal with these issues?

In today's world, development of industrial, educational and infrastructural sectors in mega cities as well as globalisation has caused humongous number of people to migrate to mega cities across the world. People migrate for better opportunities. To what extent can mega cities be home to larger share of population? There are several issues caused and faced by people living in mega cities primarily the scarcity of resources. Solution to this can be government creating norms for proper allocation of all resources throughout different communities. This essay will effectively list the problems and viable measures. Firstly, the principal problem with most mega cities is that they are extremely crowded leading to huge competition for resources including land, water and electricity. This unequal distribution and access to resources has led to distinct lifestyles possessed by certain communities. Also due to urbanisation, there is surge in usage of private transport resulting in air and noise pollution. On the other hand, there are few real solutions to this accelerating problem. Government can enforce laws which will provide precise distribution of all amenities to each community without compromising on quality. Furthermore, government should invest more in to increase the efficiency of public transport. Awareness campaigns about afforestation can also be carried out. Conclusively, the primary problems in mega cities are the competition for resources and pollution caused due to excessive use of private vehicles. However, implementation of appropriate laws by government and effective awareness drives can subside the issues.