In the past, knowledge was contained in books. Nowadays, knowledge is uploaded to the internet. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

The trend among folks to acquire information from online rather than books is escalating at an exponential pace. There are numerous benefits of learning virtual but one canot deny from its drawbacks. On the one hand, it is more accessible to obtain information via internet, meaning that one can learn anything, anytime and anywhere from any part of the world. Moreover, online resources of education are more up to date and therefore more reliable source of information, consequently, the researchers are dependant on social media sites to acquire the most relevant information for their research work. Furthermore, advancement of technology leads to save relentless cutting of forest for the production of paper which, is needed for making books. With the innovation of E – books, gadgets such as kindle for reading novels, the use of paper has been reduced considerably. This is illustrated by country like India, where the paper industry has shown a sharp decrease with more and more people are being fascinated to study online. Thus, paperless society is greatly a boon in today’s world. On the other hand, It is not secure to provide personal information online, as there are increasing number of hackers, website scammers that can access all the confidential information of the users and can use it for own benefits. Also, the data in online websites conveys different meaning for the same thing as there multiple number of websites for the same topic, this confuses the reader and as a result of it, it lacks original meaning and people will look into books as more trustful source. In Conclusion, It is stated that although Internet aids in reliable, approachable and more sustainable source of edification, it also provides threats of losing personal information.