Armed robbery is rampant in the suburbs.

Crime rate such as burglary and theft is becoming increasingly prevalent in the rural areas. In my opinion, I support that outskirts now suffer an increased rate in robbery owing to the unemployment rate in such regions. While universities keep churning out graduates year after year, the demand for labour is extremely low. Consequently, there are a lot of idle youths who do not have gained employment and this has led to a rise in theft, pick pocketing, kidnapping for ransom in the local areas. Furthermore, the government and influential individuals who are in the position to suppprt the youths by providing jobs, creation of empowerment programmes and also construction of manufacturing companies, now employ them as thugs for their selfish political gains. For example, a story that was recently released in the PUNCH newspaper highlighted how an armed robber confessed to being paid by a member of the House of Representatives in exchange for him to threaten any of his oppositions. Another reason why there is an upsurge in the level of atrocities committed in the local areas is due to the increase in the production of violent movies. There are so many films today that display gory details, as a result, people try to imitate these violence in their environment. Moreover, there are no law enforcement agencies to instill fear into people. Corruption is now the order of the day with the police force. Many of these police officers lack integrity and even encourage these unlawful acts. In conclusion, the rise in the level of crime in the district areas is due to unemployment as well as the rise in the production of violent movies.