Some people think that famous people can help international aid organizations to draw attention to important problems. Others believe that the celebrities can make the problems seem less important.

Several international aid organizations use famous celebrities to represent their organization. Although majority of the people think that having famous celebrities as their representatives help organizations raise awareness to important issues, others believe that famous personalities can make critical issues less significant due to their personal scandals. In my opinion, having well-known personalities as an international aid ambassador is beneficial to any non-government organization as they can help increase consciousness on the global issues that need immediate attention through their influence and celebrity power. Majority of the famous people, particularly actors and actresses in Hollywood represent several international organizations such as Unicef, United Nations, World Hunger Organization, etc. These actors and actresses use their celebrity power to spread awareness on different global issues that we are facing today. However, there are number of celebrities who created adverse impact to international organizations they represent due to their personal lives that are heavily scrutinized by the media. For example, when Johnny Depp was embroiled in domestic abuse, he couldn’t perform his social obligation to the organizations he is representing. In addition, scandals faced by the celebrities typically overshadow the social causes they are fighting for as the media is more focused on their personal battle rather than their social advocacies. Conversely, there are also huge number of celebrities, that despite their past personal scandals, continuously use their power and influence into good cause. For example, Angelina Jolie has been an effective ambassador of Unicef. Through her celebrity status, she was able to increase the global awareness about difficulties of many refugees in different parts of the world. Likewise, she used her global stature to raise monetary funds for Unicef to help refugees find permanent home. Furthermore, International Organizations also use global superstars of younger generation to stay relevant in today’s modern world as these celebrities have strong social media following. To further illustrate, Unicef use the strong social media presence of global superstar BTS to reach out to younger people and raise social awareness about depression, violence, and suicide which many of us face nowadays. As a result, more and more younger people able to participate in their social campaigns which can also be seen as effective and timely. In conclusion, getting the help of famous celebrities to promote social advocacies for international aid organizations are massively effective due to their popularity and influence on many people around the world. Through their social media following, these celebrities can shed more light to the global issues happening around the world. Furthermore, the global issues that these celebrities are campaigning for also get the proper exposure and help from their many supporters in different parts of the globe.