Arising problems when Vietnam obeys rules of origin

First of all, many Vietnamese enterprises do not fully comprehend the rules of origin. In addition, a number of committed rules of origin are interpreted in a way that makes it difficult for enterprises to comply and take advantage of them. This is why the proportion of export turnover using preferential tariffs under FTAs in total export turnover is currently low and has been trending downward in recent years (from 39 percent in 2018 to 33 percent in 2020). Besides, Vietnamese enterprises are not aware of integration knowledge as well as necessary self-defense measures when participating in FTAs. The percentage of Vietnamese enterprises which can take advantages from FTA is less than 50%. And Vietnam's exports had been the subject of 208 foreign trade remedy investigation cases by the end of August 2021. Majority of Vietnamese businesses are small, medium, and even super small (average registered capital of 6 billion VND per company). However, their products are primarily processed goods that do not add significant economic value. Moreover, Circulars on Rules of Origin under FTAs contain difficult-to-understand language that must always be explained by a Ministry of Industry and Trade official (the only entity in Vietnam with enough expertise to interpret it correctly and effectively force). Especially, Vietnamese garment enterprises are facing many challenges from the rules of origin. In some FTAs such as AFTA, FTA with China, Korea and Chile, the local content requirements are not stringent (raw materials can be imported and only the final stages of cutting and sewing the fabric take place in Vietnam), but for the FTAs such as ASEAN – Australia/New Zealand, ASEAN – India, the local content requirements are much more stringent (final products are required to have a minimum localisation rate of around 35–40%).