argumentative essay children should be raised by two parents

Caring for a child is a great responsibility that requires time and patience. Society influences us to portray the perfect family, where a single-household is regarded as unacceptable but is it always in the child's interest to be raised by two parents? Research results from Hilton and Deval (1998) give evidence that the family structure ´contributes to children's behavior problems`, and report a significant difference between single and married parents, with single households documenting more negative behavior problems. Consequently, children who are brought up by two caregivers show better social, emotional, and physical health, since the children have two role models who provide love, family support, and a stable environment to grow up in. Furthermore, the responsibility for the child's development is shared by two people. Due to the cooperation between the guardians the child's life is more balanced and less stressful since the parents have more time devoted to the children. The income of a double-household gives more access to economic resources creating opportunities to participate in social activities like a sports club that can positively influence the child's social competencies. It also allows for an exchange of assumptions about a specific subject among the adults, for instance, future educational decisions. In addition to that, the different beliefs of the guardians offer a child more perspectives to create their own opinion. However, an inharmonious relationship between the parents affects the child in various aspects. Not only does it negatively influence the future relationships of the child but it also impacts the psychological-well being and educational development. In an unstable household, the child's mental health can suffer due to a sense of loneliness and being drawn between two fronts. If the parents stay together for the child's interest it might be more harmful than raising the child alone since the child does not live in a positive, consistent environment where it has time to focus on schoolwork and therefore develops negative behaviors. For this reason, one parent might be more beneficial for the child since he or she devotes her time specifically to parenting and lays focus on their well-being. Due to the undivided attention, the bond between the guardian and the child is even stronger since they function as a team. The child does not experience arguments or conflicts between the parents about decisions and therefore feels safer, reducing their stress level. A single-household also creates opportunities for autonomous learning that positively impact educational development and teaches a child to be independent and confident. Nonetheless, with only one guardian the perspective regarding parenting choices is one-sided, the contributions about values and beliefs are more crucial since they directly impact the child's point of view. Consequently, the role model must be aware of their influence when making choices concerning their future. In addition to that, the primary responsibility for childrearing is a structural problem since one person has to balance work, provide an income, and care for the child's educational and social life. It is also more stressful for the caregiver who has less time for oneself, experiences added pressure and feels overwhelmed by the number of tasks. With the financial resources of a single parent, there is also a greater possibility to have a shortage of money which decreases opportunities concerning school or work choices. A study published by Cornell University in 2009 reported that children with single-parent families have greater levels of high-risk behaviors regarding the use of substance abuse like consuming drugs compared to married families. The child has only one contact person who encourages and cares for them, as a result, the child develops social and emotional insecurities, and is more likely to fail in school. For this reason, it is most important to center on the child's well-being, while on average, two role models are superior to one, in some cases one devoted guardian is better than two less involved. In fact, it is in the child's interest to have a stable family structure with responsible, committed, and loving parenting.