Are gap years a waste of time?

Academic gap years are in fact a very common practice amidst the students worldwide. Although not every of us live the same experiences in the academic life, we can be sure that one or may gap years are usually a good option to consider for some instances. In my opinion, I do not consider taking gap years a waste of time, firstly because I am not to judge others´ decisions in life, those are not my problems and neither affect me, but also because it could be a great opportunity to get further preparation for the next academic level, call it college or call it degree. Gap years could be even a chance to take a rest from the school stress, which tends to be high as heaven when studying for a degree. To forget the responsibility of taking difficult classes with perhaps not so well-prepared professors helps a lot to give our minds a well-deserved break if we were doing our best. In the other hand, gap years are also excellent options if we need some extra income. Maybe we need to pay some school bills and we are running out of money for the next year, so taking a gap year to get a job and save some money for the future sounds like an option to take into account. In the end, all depend on which our needs are. The only way to waste a gap year is by doing nothing and take that word the literal way. If you need a break, want to give your mind some vacations, or your pocket needs to be refilled, a gap year is definitely your option.