Are computers essential features of modern education? What subjects can be better taught using computers? Are there aspects of a good education that cannot be taught using computers?

The world has witnessed many rapid changes in almost all areas including education, after the invention of the computer and this tool has become an essential part in many new sectors. The education sector is no exception and the modern education system is so deeply rooted in the computer and internet technology that without these two, modern educations would become meaningless. Who could have thought only 40 years ago that computer would be used in rural classrooms, modern online based distance education system and in medical colleges? In fact, the modernization in education was possible because of the invention and widespread uses of the computer and internet technology. From physics to aeronautical engineering, chemistry to modern arts, computers are used in everywhere. A complex chemical reaction can be simulated using a computer, the trainee pilots can simulate the real flight in a computer system and even the students in fine arts can learn the digital arts which are created using computers. The changes in education and uses of computers have become a common phenomenon nowadays and a school without a computer lab is considered a primitive one. Math, Physics, Chemistry, engineering, medical, business & commerce subjects can all be better taught using computers. Even arts subjects can be better taught using computers. Subjects that directly involve computers like computer science, computer engineering, electrical engineering, graphics designing etc. can’t be conducted without the help of computers. There are still some aspects of education that require human touches and involvements and can’t be done using a computer. For instance, teaching morality, discipline and responsibility are done by teachers apart from delivering lectures on subject matters and that can’t be done using machines. A student learns many more aspects from the teachers and classmates and that can’t be done using computers. The creativity and leadership quality are two other aspects that are nurtured and inspired by humans and machine can’t take responsibilities for these issues. In summary, computers can enhance the scope of better education in almost all of the subjects except teaching some values and moralities of life that can only be taught by humans.