" We recommend that Grove College preserve its century-old tradition of all-female education rather than admit men into its programs. It is true that a majority of faculty members voted in favor of coeducation, arguing that it would encourage more stu

Though the survey carried out among the students of grove college and almunae can be a strong reason to maintain the trend of all-female education, a deeper look into the methodology applied for the survey and conclusion drawn from them can reveal a pretty different picture. Firstly, as mentioned in the argument almunae are one of the major supporter of college and as the almunae member have opposed the idea of co-education, it seems plausible to maintain trend to maintain support from them. However, the study doesn't mention the criteria about how the respondents were chosen from the almunae for the survey. If the respondents of the survey, for instance, happen to be the one who never made contribution to college, and the other half who didn't even participate in the survey were the major supporter then it wouldn't be sound to draw conclusion based on this survey. Similarly, the argument also mentions the results of survey among the college students where 80% of them wanted to maintain the trend of all-female education. However, the argument mentions nowhere if the respondents of the survey were inclusive (including juniors and seniors equally). Had the survey been conducted only among the junior or only among the seniors then survey itself wont be reliable, let alone the conclusion drawn from it. In the same way the argument also mentions in its concluding part that the moral of the students will improve if it maintains the status quo. But, it doesn't make it clear how maintaining the same situation as of now would improve the moral of students. Rather as the faculty supports the idea of co-education, not acting according to their line of thought might dwindle their morale instead, that may affect the morale of students indirectly. Therefore, though from bird's-eye view the idea of maintaining all-female education seems plausible, a deeper look into the facts and studies that are mentioned to bolster the argument might reveal a completely different picture. So, it is mandatory to re-evaluate those facts and studies and then only move forward to make a decision.