The following appeared in a memorandum issued by the strategic planning department at Omni Inc. " Mesa Foods, a manufacturer of snack foods that currently markets its products within a relatively small region of the country, has strong growth potential. Mes

In the memo, the author recommends that Mesa Foods has strong growth potential and Omni Inc. should purchase this manufacturer and focus on promoting Diabolique Salsa throughout the country. Although with listing several facts seeming convincing in the history of Mesa's market value, the author fails to provide a cogent case to let us convince that merging Mesa is a recommendable and profitable deal, which is based on the following essential explanations. To begin with, the increased sales of Diabolique Salsa in the region where it is sold does not indicate that it will gain success throughout the country. There is a strong possibility that most regions in the country might not be familiar with the so-called best-selling products. Some rural areas even might have not seen any products made by this manufacturer. It is highly necessary to pay more attention on advertisement and public image for opening up more new stores. Secondly, the assumption that Omni Inc. aims to reach 14-to-25 years olds, the age group that consumes the most snack food is open to doubt, because we are not informed that Mesa food also targets this age group and its profits attributes to this age group. Perhaps most consumers from an elder group have a habit of eating snacks. For example grandparents prepare themselves afternoon tea as supplementary nutrition or middle-aged women also enjoy some cookies and cakes during their daily chatting time. It is too narrow to concentrate on one age group. Thirdly, we only know that Diabolique Salsa is the best-selling product, which can not convince us that other food products are also profitable. If the quality of other food products is lower than the Salsa, it is not wise to purchase this manufacturer. It is too risky to invest on one product. Even though the quality is proved to be good and healthy, the taste of the food might not be welcomed through out the country. Every one has their own taste in delicious food, especially choosing the snacks they prefer. Thus, the profitability in other food products is still questionable. All in all, before merging a new company, the author needs to think twice and do a lot of research on its potential ability of development. Besides, the author also needs to consider to meet the demands of consumers'taste and build up the reputation of the company among those regions. Taking more measures to supervise the manufacturer and control the quality of their food products, which is a paramount issue to enlarge its influence and pave the road to advance further in the future.