Analysis of Britvic (financially and non-financially)

Non-financial – We can generalize Britvic's non-financial performance from various aspects. First, Britvic's products are sold in more than fifty countries, and it is the number one of branded soft drink produces and number two of branded carbonated drink in Great Britain market. Britvic is the industry leader in the Ireland market as well. The company is bottling in agreement with one of the beverage industry leader PepsiCo since 2017 and produce and sell in GB and Ireland under exclusive PepsiCo brands. The contract with a brand with a strong market presence and customer satisfaction affect the company in an effective way both financially and non-financially. On the other hand, we can look at employee satisfaction rates or wellbeing rates of a company to analyze how it goes non-financially. The annual employee satisfaction rate in 2019, rose to 77% from 73% in 2018. If we compare it with the industry average customer satisfaction index (76. 96) in the UK, we can say that the company is performing well. Financial – Overall, the company’s position is not bad from the short-term aspects. As stated in our analysis, the company is good at managing working capital that is enhancing year by year. It could get money from its credit customers and sell its inventory in a short period in 2019. Besides that, it has reduced the period to pay its short-term debts to the suppliers. Britvic’s current ratio is less than the previous years in 2019. Also, it is consequently lower compared to the industry average. This means the company can suffer to pay its short-term liabilities. However, as long as we analyze the industry the changes in current ratios over three years are in line with the changes in the industry average. As long as we generalize the long-term position of the company, we can see that in 2019 the size of equity has improved. On the other hand, the company has paid more parts of its long-term debts. This can be good if the company can use its equity efficiently in the future. The company’s performance has raised from the gross profit point of view. On the other hand, operating profit is less than previous years. Thus, it can mean that the company couldn’t manage its expenditures in 2019 very well. However, if we analyze this deeply, we can see that the higher number of operating expenses are due to the one-off transaction (Asset held for sale – impairment charge). Therefore, the company’s net profit is less than in this period. From the outlook of the position of the company, we can say that Britvic (as a stand-alone company) has been suffering the lack of fixed assets. As long as we examine the statement of financial positions (both – stand-alone and consolidated), we have seen that Britvic doesn’t have fixed assets itself. This kind of company needs to have fixed assets to make production. On the contrary, due to the lack of information, we don’t know exactly how subsidiaries depend on Britvic. Overall, the shareholder should be reassured that Britvic CO is profitable and expanding. On the other hand, the company ought to focus on enhancing its fixed assets, as well as endeavor to solve its short-term liquidity issues.