Bringing mobile phones to schools

Most of the students nowadays face a lot of distractions in school, especially the distraction of mobile phones. Thus, parents and school counselors agree that bringing mobile phones to schools causes more negative than positive effects. However, not bringing mobile phones to school doesn’t mean students encounter less distraction from their studies. In my opinion, not allowing students to bring mobile phones to school brings a myriad of inconveniences including inability to contact with parents when urgent, accessibility to the latest information is restricted as well as causing barriers in creating an interesting learning process. First and foremost, not allowing students to bring mobile phones to school leads to inconveniences for students to contact their parents when urgent. Students are unable to inform their parents or guardians of any emergency issues promptly. There are many situations when students will need to inform their parents in time such as extension of class after school hours to finish the lessons or teachers may conduct additional classes to help students revise for tests as well as extra school activities. In these cases, students can’t contact their parents to arrange transportation when mobile phones are not allowed. As a result, it causes parents a lot of inconveniences and unnecessary wasting of time. Hence, bringing mobile phones to school should be allowed to facilitate the problem of students’ transportation. Besides, not allowing students to bring mobile phones to school will cause students unable to access the latest information easily. This is because students usually come along with a lot of questions that they’re curious about when the teacher is teaching about a topic. In this case, students can immediately search for the information using their mobile phone. However, without the assist from mobile phones, students are unable to obtain the latest information and knowledge about the topics they are learning especially for those science-related subjects. This makes it hard for students to achieve an effective learning process. Thus, not allowing students to bring mobile phones to school will restrict their accessibility to the latest knowledge and information. Lastly, forbidding students to bring their mobile phone to school will create barriers for lecturers to form an interesting teaching process. This is because lecturers would utilise some online educational games to make the lessons more interesting as well as enhance the students’ knowledge regarding a certain topic. Therefore, when students are not allowed to bring their mobile phone, they are unable to engage in this interesting learning process and enjoy the fun of finding solutions together in order to solve the problems. This in turn makes it hard for the lecturers to adopt an interactive teaching mode. In conclusion, not allowing students to bring mobile phones to school brings a lot of adverse effect including inability to contact with parents when urgent, accessibility to the latest information is restricted as well as causing barriers in creating interesting learning mode while not solving the issue of distraction at the same time. This is because students will tend to spend even more time using their mobile phone after the whole day of restriction in school which in turn, worsen the problem and cause their grades to deteriorate. Thus, in my opinion, students should be allowed to bring mobile phones to school but school authorities should provide lockers to keep away students’ mobile phones and only allow them to take them when the lecturers think it’s necessary.