Analysis and Implementation of a New Method to Increase the Efficiency of Photovoltaic Cells by Applying a Dual Axis Sun Tracking System and Fresnel Lens Array

Abstract: Nowadays due to the solar conversion efficiency issue important, concentrators application and sun-tracking systems in photovoltaic (PV) equipment have led to improved output efficiency and their performances. In this article, the effects of a semi-Fresnel lens as a convergent structure will be simulated in COMSOL Multiphysics software and the results would make improvements in the characteristic responses of PV cells which are verified with our experimental results. Besides, because the groove angles of the semi-Fresnel lens are calculated based on the orthogonal sun rays, a novel dual-axis sun tracking system with optical and electronic components has been designed and constructed for panel orientation adjustment perpendicularly to the entrance ones. In this condition, the sun rays always radiate at the same efficient angles on PV cells. This issue leads to a reduction in the area of light concentration, the total area of the PV cells as well as their costs. Results show a significant improvement in output power of the PV cells array in comparison to the previous study by more than 2. 5 times. Another key point is that the effective time of cell performance from sunrise to sunset, extends longer during a day, regardless of location and time zone.