Some people say that it is necessary to possess talent to become a successful sportsperson. Others, however, believe that hard work and practice are required.

There are different opinions about whether it is a talent or hard work that contributes more to a sports person’s success. While some people believe that it is innate skills that play a key role in achieving success, I agree with those who say that success in sports is only possible through consistent efforts. In this essay, I will discuss both opinions and explain why I agree with the latter view. Those who say that it is essential to possess talent might argue that without talent an individual would never get an opportunity to perform on the international platform. In other words, sports players who have a natural ability to do a sport technique well is considered to get a chance to play in any sport, and it is this skill that gives an edge to the player over others. Malinga, for example, is a successful cricket player whose ball swing technique is what sets him apart from other ballers in the cricket sport. Clearly, if a person lacks such sport skills, he most probably would not be selected to play on an international level, which actually determines success as it gives recognition to the players worldwide. Having said that, I agree with the viewpoint that hard work and practice is necessary to become successful in any sport because if a skill is not refined, it is often not possible to perform consistently. What that means is, through continuous efforts a talented sportsperson can possibly make records or earn medals on an international platform. It is not only the skill that matters but also the strategies players need to make while playing with an opponent team. To illustrate, in tennis, a player needs to win in all matches to earn the championship trophy. Thus, players need to have an optimum fitness level as well as refined mental and physical skills which is only possible through regular hard work and practice. In conclusion, I think without talent, any amount of hard work would not be able to make a sportsperson learn a skill so as to make records and achieve success, but without consistency in training, even if an athlete is greatly talented, he would not be able to unleash his full potential.