Today, the expensive price of popular consumer products is because of the power of advertising and not real needs of people.

In today's society, human beings live differently than they used to be. People consume various expensive products they actually don't in need for. This situation can be attributed to many things, the power of advertisement being one of them. In ancient times, a human only needed food to eat, a place to sleep and water to clean himself/herself. Today, our perception of what we need is totally changed. For example, many people have more than one TV at their house and clothes that they've never worn before. Firstly, humanity comes from a state of poverty and storing things we don't actually need is a result of this. Some sociologists say that this behaviour is encoded in our DNA. Knowing there is no changing that, one must try to be more responsible about what they buy. Secondly, we live in a world that more and more people have to face poverty every day. For example, instead of purchasing a new iPad people should donate that amount to charity organizations. In addition to that, I must point out the power of advertisement. Big companies spend tons of their money on advertising and there is a logic behind that. Most of these companies know how vulnerable the human brain is. In fact, they design the main points of the commercials according to that. When they get to customer's brain there is a certain urge form. While the urge makes consumers want to purchase things they don't need, the products they sell are almost always there. Capitalism designed trusting on such behaviours. In conclusion, consuming is a trending habit of people. This can be attributed to many aspects of human behaviour as well as the power of advertising.