An increasing number of schools provide tablets and laptop computers for students to use in school, replacing books and other printed materials like exams and assignments. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

Things have changed a lot from the early decades when it comes to education. Due to the evolvement of technology, we can see that a huge number of academic institutes have been replacing textbooks and other educational materials with computers and tablets. Due to which there has been a noticeable positive and negative change in the education of the generation. The addition of computers and other electronic devices for educational purposes has been proven very useful. Students have a wider range of studying the material. When it comes to books, any book can be found on the internet so they don't have to spend money on buying books. The trend of carrying a huge load of bag to school will end. Instead, they will carry a laptop. Doing assignments will be much easier. They can give their exams from their home. Also using these equipments will make them forward and advanced. On the other hand, we cannot ignore the fact that it can bring some negative effects too. For example, many students can get distracted from the study. If not used properly, the internet can be lethal. Many students find ways to entertain themselves in various ways like gaming, watching unnecessary stuff and it will definitely hamper their education. Apart from that, a major problem can be the cost of these electronics. Replacing books with laptops is obviously not cheap. It won't be possible for each student to afford laptops and tablets. Looking carefully at the merits and demerits of this trend, it is obvious that education will be improvised if the old school way of teaching and technology is taken parallel rather than letting technology overshadow the old way of teaching.