Many people nowadays spend a large part of their time using a smartphone. What do you think are the reasons for this? Do you think it is a negative or positive development?

There is no denying that smartphones have become an indispensable part of our lives thanks to the explosion of cutting-edge technology. However, there is a burgeoning population using their mobile phones on a more regular basis, which engenders some valid concerns. There are obviously some reasons behind this trend, and I strongly believe that it does more harm than good. There is a myriad of reasons why people nowadays are hooked on using smartphones. First, newly launched phones boast distinctive features like an easy-to-touch screen or innovative applications for all ages. As a result, a larger number of people, especially youngsters often spend hours using their phones. Second, mobile phones are considered an essential tool to keep in touch with different individuals or groups. In the past, it was common that letters were used to disseminate information and knowledge which required much effort. With the convenience and flexibility, smartphones undoubtedly satisfy humans’ growing demands in terms of communication. Also, in a world dominated by materialism, people are under constant pressure to seek a decent job or finish a deadline. Mobile phones; therefore, are of paramount importance when it comes to providing people with entertaining content to alleviate stress. Given the aforementioned benefits of smartphones in our daily lives, I would contend that spending excessive time using phones can take a toll on humans. A major drawback is that people who dedicate a larger part of their leisure time to using mobile phones may end up leading a sedentary lifestyle. Their inactivity effectively makes them more susceptible to chronic or even life-threatening diseases, like obesity or stroke. In addition to this, when people are virtually connected via smartphones, the relationships between humans in the real world will be likely to diminish. The Covid-19 pandemic; for example, has witnessed an increasing number of suicide cases due to the lack of real-life interactions among members of a family or friends or even neighbours, especially when people have been inclined to use their phones more frequently. In conclusion, while smartphones play a pivotal part in our modern world with lots of benefits, using them excessively can wreak havoc on both physical and mental health.