An increasing number of schools provide tablets and laptop computers for students to use in school, replacing books and other printed materials like exams and assignments. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

A highly controversial issue today relates to an augmentation of schools offer tablets and laptop computers for pupils to use in school instead of using books and other printed materials for instance exams and assignments. This essay will examine the advantages and disadvantages of schools providing tablets and laptop computers to students. On one side of the argument there are people who argue that the benefits of using tables and laptop computers considerably outweigh its disadvantages. The main reason for believing this is that tablets are portability. Students can bring it anywhere and can study whenever they are available. It is also possible to say that tables are digital libraries at your fingertips. One good illustration of this is when students are on the bus or metro, they can simply study during the time they commute home or if they need to quickly do some research, they can easily search for what they are looking for. In addition, by using tablets and laptop computers it helps reducing a big amount of papers utilize, which is environmentally friendly. On the other hand, it is possible to make the opposing case. It is often argued that in fact providing tablets and desktop computer, computers in schools may cause health issues, especially eye problems people often have this opinion because looking at the screen for several hours could cause dry eyes and blurry vision. A second point is that, it could create slow class discussion and harder to engage. A particularly good example here is many times in class discussion, students may look on their screens without making eye contact with the professor and sometimes even not listening to the questions as they get distracted on what they are doing on the tablets. In conclusion, although providing tablets and workstation computers could negatively effect on class discussion and could cause eye problems, it has an extremely positive influence on student learning capacity as they can study whenever and wherever. Moreover, it is also good for the environment. Therefore, I believe that these benefits of offering tablets outweigh its drawbacks.