An increasing number of schools provide tablets and laptop computers for students to use in school replacing books and other printed materials like exams and assignments What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend

There is no room for doubt that the government needs to implement extremely effective means to tackle crime. It is often argued that further improvement in the level of education may be the best way of achieving this, as this can lead to career progression later in life. Personally, I feel that education is one of a range of action we should use, and is not the best strategy. To begin with, it is a widely acknowledged fact that the root cause of many criminal activities stems from poverty. This may result in offenders pursuing illegal ways such as fraud, burglary, and smuggling to earn money. For this reason, giving a great opportunity to be educated in their jail terms, they can enhance their practical skills, hopefully embarking on a promising career after serving sentence. Furthermore, in many cases, offenders need to learn codes of conduct and appropriate behaviour, as they have not been sufficiently nurtured by their parents and schools. Therefore, by using training programs, inmates can modify their malicious traits and characteristics which can provide enormous benefits for their social and professional skills. Of course, it is true that in certain cases we need to seek stricter ways to effectively rehabilitate offenders, for example, serial killers and hardened criminals. While having a personality disorder, they have shown to some extent a favourable response to the educational programs. This means, they can recognize their treacherous behaviours, and thus assume responsibility on their criminal activities. However, this does not overlook the role other rehabilitation strategies such as medical treatment of psychologic disorders. To conclude, educational programs seem a practical proposition to enhance criminal`s knowledge, and professional skill, and can be a source of codes of conduct to behave reasonably in society. Although this does not make it the best method to rehabilitate inmates, as some offenders suffer from personality disorders which may limit their response to education.