An Increasing Number Of Schools Provide Tablets And Laptop Computers For Students To Use In School

Many schools have begun supplying tablets and laptops instead of the traditional learning materials such as books and other printed materials for educational purpose. Incorporating modern technology into learning is beneficial; however, there are some drawbacks to it. On the one hand, adding devices such as tablets and laptops into the process of learning has many advantages. Firstly, it is a good way to save paper resources. Adopting these technologies will make schools much more environment friendly. Secondly, students have easy access to numerous sources such as articles and videos, which can develop their interest in studies. This makes learning easier for students. On the other hand, the drawbacks are quite noteworthy. Since the access to the internet increases, there are possibilities that the students may get distracted by the unwanted content on the internet. Furthermore, the screen time increases causing health problems. Spread of false information is quite likely on internet platforms hence, books are more reliable. Students living in remote areas may have poor internet connection, and this hampers their access to the web and that is why such trends are unsuitable for many students. To sum up, replacing traditional paper learning materials with devices like computers and tablets has some very clear environmental and educational advantages. However, schools must take care to monitor students’ screen time and ensure that students are using their devices for educational purposes.