An increasing number of professionals, such as doctors and teachers, are leaving their own poorer countries. Write a “Providing solutions to problems” essay to suggest ways to deal with this situation.

Nowadays, more and more people in different important professions choose to work in developed nations rather than in their own under-developed ones. This phenomenon, called "brain-drain" by the media, presents difficult problems for developing nations who desperately need entrepreneurs, leaders and people with expertise; however, there are some long-term solutions. Brain drain causes numerous problems for societies.   First, competent individuals relocating to more developed nations have a negative impact on development in their own countries. Many countries will see a slowdown in modernization and industrialization due to a lack of experts. Second, nations which lose a high number of talented and educated individuals may face a public relations hit. As a result, attracting international experts or investments from other nations will be difficult, which will be damaging to their national economy. However, the menace of human capital flight can be curtailed. First, by investing more in education such as equipping universities with state-of-the-art facilities or recruiting more qualified professors, governments can reduce the number of students studying abroad and the possibility of them staying to work there after graduation. Second, if there are more ideal working conditions with high salaries and promotional opportunities in developing countries, professional people are more likely to work and contribute to their own countries. In conclusion, brain drain is a burning issue because it limits developments of a country and may ruin its reputation. Possible approaches to this are for governments to make more investments in tertiary education and create better working environments. Although the problem cannot be solved in the short term, these are plausible solutions to lessen its effect on the developing countries.