An increasing number of people choose to travel abroad.

In the modern world, traveling to overseas destinations is enjoying an increasing popularity. This fires up a heated controversy over whether this prevalent trend produces more positive or negative impacts. While there are several undesirable influences caused by international travel, I would argue that it is generally more beneficial in various ways. On the one hand, the idea of traveling abroad may sound unattractive to some people for a number of reasons. Firstly, mass tourism to a region may generate harmful effects on local cultures. Being exposed to foreign visitors with different cultures, local people may suffer from a disruption in their way of life, leading to the erosion of traditional values and customs. Secondly, international travel contributes to the exacerbated environmental issues. For instance, air travel exhausts more greenhouse gas emissions into the biosphere, which increases air pollution and global warming on the whole. On the other hand, the widespread presence of international travel could result in a variety of benefits. One of the major advantages is that it enhances mutual understanding about distinct cultural backgrounds. Being given the chance to experience cross-cultural encounters, travelers can acquire deeper knowledge about other cultures and histories, gradually developing their empathy with other people. In addition, it is unquestionable that tourism provides local residents with a great source of income. If a particular area is promoted as a popular tourist destination, thousands of people can be lifted out of poverty, and given a better quality of life. In fact, the tourism industry is proven to be one of the backbone industries of many countries, around the world, accounting for a significant share of their gross national products. In conclusion, it seems evident that the advantages brought by international tourism far outweigh its disadvantages.