An increasing number of developing countries are expanding tourist industries. Why is it the case? Is it a positive development?

The potential of making great fortunes and horizontal integration, together with the property of establishing connections between countries has generated tourism increasing popularity among developing countries. Beside the positive promotion it would bring about to economy, I would also argue for the downside it may provoke. There are clearly reasons explaining why tourism is wide spreading among those less developed regions; one is that it becomes, mostly, a big earner of the national incomes. Under the current circumstance of the modern world, businesses expanding their volumes mainly among tertiary industries but the shrinking scales happening on the primary and secondary ones, tourism has grown significantly in both economic and social importance. As the one with a capacity of only requiring for some initial capital, and barely no further investment from the government, this field makes itself a speedy money and employment generator; it also has the ability of integrating various industries together, ranging from hotel, transport and other service industries to even the food catering: there are always visitors paying for tasting the exotic flavors thanks to their curiosity. The communicational capacity is another factor giving rise to tourism becoming a new way bridging developing countries with other parts of the world. The prosperity of travel trade attracts capitals and entrepreneurs from everywhere; international retailers, hotel owners and even the media investors are willing to pour their wealth and conceptions in building up a win-win place in the tourist destinations. This enables those places, sometimes the countries where they belong, to draw great attention from overseas; the following up cooperation, diplomatic relations might go smoothly after the sustainable and far-reaching international trading. However, the future directions of the great booming of tourism inside a developing country don’t bring about a good vision only; limitations deserve a place in certain respects. I would sincerely say that tourism in developing areas has a profound positive impact on the economy, society, or even the culture: it contributes dramatically to value-added capital investment, employment and tax input, opens up nationalities to the whole world and, most importantly, marries the unique culture of the location well with the contemporary mainstreams. Whereas the dark side of the picture should be witnessed: tourism is directly and indirectly blighting ecosystem and basic industries within a particular place. Let alone the environmental problems—trash everywhere in the scenery spots, or proliferating carbon emission due to a huge flow of migration—that may be manifest (for the wild tourism, even worse), the exploitation of a tourist attraction means the profound intervention to the nature and ecology of a location, and that is why it cannot develop based on the way it should have been. Simultaneously, the expanding for tourism in developing countries gives rise to a shrinking fate for their core industries. the concept of “developing countries” should also be clear: most of them are less developed in their primary and secondary industries, which are considered mostly as the pillar of national economy: practitioners in farming, or in the basic industries may be less sufficient in their income; once they find they can earn more money by spending energy as transporters, or commercial good dealers in tourist zones than working for a longer time in their workplace, it is not surprising that many of them leave their current vocations or farm-works, which thus makes the originally underdeveloped industry stuck. In conclusion, economic attractiveness and the desire for communicating with other parts of the world provide the opportunity for tourism promotion in developing countries, but the trend may not only confer benefits, but also provoke severe problems environmentally and industrially.